Back
_Gudny_Une
See pages

Artists: Gudny Gudmundsdóttir

Photos by: Juli Susin

Publisher: Royal Book Lodge

Year: 2015, Montreuil-sous-Bois

Format: 33 x 26 cm

Edition of 18 copies numbered and signed

PRCLN T VLCN

Gudny Gudmundsdottir

«By God, if I ever cracked, I'd try to make the world crack with me. Listen! The world only exists through your apprehension of it, and so it's much better to say that it's not you that's cracked -- it's the Grand Canyon.»

Scott Fitzgerald

 

This work presents a series of five original rayograms, obtained by the direct impression of drawings onto photographic paper. In the drawings, diaphanous female figures evolve in dresses crossbred with photographic devices.  The counters of the drawings appear in negative on the photographic paper like X-rays of invisible fissures, simultaneously advancing toward the viewer and retreating into infinite space. This documentary process is not unlike the one used to photograph ectoplasms at the turn of the last century.

 

2015, Royal Book Lodge (Iceland, Reykjavik) 5 Original rayograms on Slawa photographic paper, printed on black marbled paper. One in-4 (33 x 26) book, ?? pages, paperback, title in gold. 18 copies, all numbered and signed by the author.

Retour
_Gudny_Une
Voir les pages

Artistes : Gudny Gudmundsdóttir

Photos : Juli Susin

Edition : Royal Book Lodge

Année : 2015, Montreuil-sous-Bois

Format : 33 x 26 cm

Edition de 18 exemplaires numérotés et signés

PRCLN T VLCN

Gudny Gudmundsdottir

«Nom de Dieu, si je me fêlais, je ferais éclater le monde avec moi. Voyons ! Le monde n’existe que par la manière dont vous le saisissez, alors il vaut beaucoup mieux dire que ce n’est pas vous qui avez la faille – que c’est le Grand Canyon.»

Scott Fitzgerald

 

L’ouvrage contient une suite de cinq rayogrammes originaux de Juli Susin, obtenus par impression directe de dessins de Gudny Gudmunsdóttir sur la surface sensible du papier photographique. Le contour des dessins apparaît en négatif sur le papier photographique comme une sorte de radiographie de fissures invisibles, les rapprochant du spectateur tout en reculant à l’infini l’espace autour des figures des personnages féminins habillés de robes, qui s’hybrident de chambres photographiques. Le procédé n’est pas sans rappeler les photographies d’ectoplasmes du début du siècle dernier.

 

 

2015, Royal Book Lodge (Island, Reykjavik). Cinq rayogrammes originaux sur papier argentique Slawa, posés sur papier noir marbré. Un volume in-4 (33 x 26 cm) Volume de ? pages, broché, sous couverture, titre en dorure. Édition de 18 exemplaires, tous numérotés et signés par les artistes.